Your feminine ways

Yesterday afternoon I took Julius to see the Kjartansson exhibition at the Barbican.  He too found it magical in its full immersive experience.  We went into the room with the 9 video harmonising installation where the feminine is celebrated in music – the idea of individuality and celebration of togetherness makes the theme of divorce even more poignant. There were other displays but we chose to watch this twice, in all its 64 minutes.  On both occasions it felt right to embrace occasionally.  Although I first saw this with Tomas last week and we enjoyed our first kiss here, I felt a profound sense of closeness experiencing this artwork with Julius.  I was glad that he found it all as enchanting as I did.

There wasn’t a plan for him to stay the night with me but after the exhibition ended at 6pm he showed me where he worked nearby and we spent a contemplative moment in Cardinal Hume’s garden of peace before going around Bunhill Cemetery to pay a visit to William Blake’s memorial.  A quick pint each of Seafarer’s at the pub opposite and I remembered that the cupboard at home was nearly bare, so we nipped into a small supermarket for some supplies.  By the time we got back and I’d made dinner and then we had our cuddle, we were both too exhausted to move and in the end he spent the night.  It was lovely to wake up together, although being the more morning person I was restless at the crack of dawn and had to take the dog out for a walk on my own.  Climbing back into bed later, we had another close and intimate embrace before breakfast.

Julius tells me that he feels very tender towards me – I asked him if this had anything to do with the fact that he is so much taller or older than me but he denied it saying it was more to do with how I am.  I suspect he is from an era where men behaved in a chivalrous manner towards women and I feel very fortunate that we have grown so fond of each other so quickly.  Doubts about how long this is likely to last no longer trouble me.  I told him that Ewan was coming down from Scotland in a few weeks to visit me.  He asked if I’d like to take some time out from him to entertain Ewan but I reassured him that I was only meeting up with Ewan for a day and night.

When we said our goodbyes on the tube platform later we knew that it wasn’t long before our next date.  Somehow we have managed to increase the frequency by one date every couple of days!

What do you think?

