the dance of back and forth

I back away, one, two, in measured steps
My eyes hold you there, safer from afar
We can only smile and don’t go over
that awkward ground, where this fragile tendresse
fell to pieces that night. We skirt the shards
of broken hope slowly and carefully
Drawing ever widening ellipses
until I cannot see you anymore.

But you stride forward on a bloody trail
And sweep aside protestation, to hold
my face between your palms with your dark gaze
I am won over by this act so bold
Meet your lips with mine, my body ablaze
Eager to drink from your accursèd grail

What do you think?

