A memory of you – promises

I found our chat thread the other day

Looking back I read –
my reply to your hello

And then a daily back and forth
until one of us said
let’s do lunch or coffee.

Can you recall
a midnight moon, later on?

after a film, a meal
laughter and warmth,
wine and confidences –
the hope of the new.

Do you remember –

the kisses outside a tube station

They were like soft longing, sipped

in the shadows

before I rushed down
to catch my last train.

I can’t forget now

that long lingering goodbye
almost morning,
walking homeward when
you took my hand in yours,
and in a shared glance

we heard the want that beat just under skin.

What do you think?

