Not lying to Goran

First to arrange a date was the nice librarian Walter who has had very similar life experiences as me and who had declared a keen interest in having straightforward sex. Which was what happened one evening last week – all well and good. He stayed the night and after sharing coffee in the morning I kissed him goodbye.

That same afternoon I had arranged to meet up with someone with whom I’d merely been chatting on the message boards of the online dating website. I had never thought we’d ever meet since he was some 250 miles away from me and I don’t generally do long distance relationships. However some weeks previously he had told me that he was going to be in London on a few errands and I suggested a coffee place near me as a suitable first meeting point. I had no expectations apart from a friendly how-do-you-do.

I walked up to the coffee bar and saw him a few yards away outside his car, phone in his hand. He was having trouble trying to get a ticket for his vehicle and whilst attempting to register online his card and vehicle, his phone died. As the cafe was quite near me and there were no parking restrictions on my road I ended up inviting this man whom I’d never met previously back to mine. Very clearly, during the short period of time we’d met and on the basis of our frank back and forth on the message boards I had decided that he seemed a reasonably trustworthy and decent sort of man.

As to what he actually thought of me inviting him back to my house did not cross my mind whatsoever. We seemed to get on extremely well – Ewan was greeted by my dog who must have also sensed his trustworthiness as he did not emit any growls. We had some tea and chatted over fruit, biscuits and cheese. Time flew by and I indicated at half past four that it might be time for me to take the dog out. Ewan took that as cue for him to leave and asked if I might allow him to kiss me. Kisses are not something my dog tolerates well – he was woefully and loudly and most agitatedly making his distress and jealousy known. So we repaired to the front room and continued until it was clear that Ewan was not leaving the house until we had ravished each other.

So when Goran returned to London at the weekend and asked if I’d missed him I found myself hesitating over telling him that I might have been distracting myself in dalliance with two others. It wasn’t the sort of telling which was meant maliciously – I said, and I had meant it most sincerely, that he was still the most satisfying shag of the year, of which there had been three.

What do you think?

